Managing user groups

Groups are only available to Postman Enterprise teams.

With Postman groups, you can organize your team members into functional groups that mimic your organizational structure. These groups allow you to efficiently manage access control across your team and seamlessly onboard new team members.

You must be a Postman team admin to create, manage, and delete groups.

Contents

Creating a group

As a team admin, you can create a group by navigating to Postman, selecting Home in the upper-left corner, then Manage Team on the left side. Alternatively, select Team in the upper-right corner > Manage Team.

Above your list of team members, select Groups > Create Group.

Create group button

Give your group a name and description, add your team members, and select the team roles you would like to assign to the group, then Create Group.

Note that you must have the billing role yourself to assign the billing role to others.

Create group form

Team members will receive an email and in-app notification when added to a group.

If a team member with a support-only account (admin and/or billing) is given the Developer role via a group they are in, they will automatically take up an available paid spot on your Postman team. If no spots are available, you will not be able to grant access to the group with that team member.

Editing a group

You can edit a group at any time by managing a group's team members and access to Postman entities.

Managing members of a group

In Postman, select Home in the upper-left corner, then Manage Team on the left side. Above your list of team members, select Groups. Locate the group you would like to modify and select it to edit.

Click + Add to add a team member to the group. Click X next to a team member to remove them from the group.

Manage team members

Once you have made the changes to the members of the group, click Save Changes.

Group members will receive an email and in-app notification when added to or removed from a group.

Managing access control for a group

You can control a group's access at the team level, workspace level, and on individual collections, APIs, environments, mock servers, and monitors.

Group members will receive an in-app notificiation when roles are modified.

Editing team roles for a group

In Postman, select Home in the upper-left corner, then Manage Team on the left side. Above your list of team members, select Groups. Locate the group you would like to modify and select it to edit.

Edit group team roles

Select the team roles you would like to assign to the group, or deselect team roles you would like to remove from the group, then Save Changes.

Managing roles on workspaces and Postman entities

You can control a group's access to individual workspaces, collections, APIs, environments, mock servers, and monitors. For more information on managing workspaces, see Sharing workspaces.

For collections, APIs, environments, mock servers, and monitors, navigate to the entity in Postman and in the left sidebar, select ... > Manage roles.

Invite group to collection

Use the search bar to add the group, then give the group Editor or Viewer permissions with the dropdown. You can also remove a group by selecting the X to the right of it in the list. Click Save to confirm changes.

See Defining roles for more information on access control at a team, workspace, API, and collection level.

Editing details for a group

In Postman, select Home in the upper-left corner, then Manage Team on the left side. Above your list of team members, select Groups. Locate the group you would like to modify and select it to edit.

Edit group description

Click on the group's name at the top of the page to modify it. To add a description, select Add a description under the group's name. To update an existing description, select it to modify. Save Changes to confirm your updates.

Deleting a group

In Postman, select Home in the upper-left corner, then Manage Team on the left side. Above your list of team members, select Groups. Locate the group you would like to delete and select it.

Click Delete to delete the group, then Delete Group to confirm.

Delete group

Next steps

Learn more about defining roles in your team.