Public workspaces

Public workspaces enable you to collaborate on entities with anyone across the world. Before you create a public workspace, navigate to your team profile settings and enable your public team profile. This will ensure your team's profile will show up on the Public API Network.

Enable team profile

Contents

Creating a public workspace

You must be a workspace admin to change the visibility of a workspace to public.

There are four types of workspaces: personal, team, private, and public workspaces. When you open a workspace, Postman will provide an overview of its contents, activity, and members in a new tab.

Open the workspace menu, then select Create Workspace.

Workspace menu

Specify a workspace name and summary. Under Visibility, select Public.

Create public workspace

Within a team, you cannot have two public workspaces with the same name.

You can also convert an existing workspace to a public workspace. Open the workspace in Postman. In the Overview tab, select Workspace Settings in the upper right. Under Visibility, select Public from the dropdown list, then Update.

If you are on a Postman Professional or Enterprise plan, you need a community manager's approval to change a workspace's visibility to Public. In the Overview tab, select Workspace Settings. Under Visibility, select Public from the dropdown list, then Request to Change Visibility.

Visibility

Once you make a workspace public, all entities within that workspace become publicly accessible through the workspace.

Notifying workspace members

When you make a workspace public, a notification is sent to all workspace members. Select the notification icon Changelog icon in the top right corner to view notifications.

In app notification

In addition to this notification, all users will receive an email with the workspace information regarding who has made the change and which workspace was affected. The email will also provide a direct link to the workspace.

Accessing a public workspace

You can access public workspaces using the Postman Explore page's Workspaces category. You can also access the public workspaces that you own or are a member of using the Workspaces selector at the top of Postman.

Access public workspaces

Sharing a public workspace

You can share a public workspace by sharing its public profile URL directly. To access the public profile URL, navigate to your Team, then select Team Settings.

View team settings

Copy the Public profile URL and paste it in your browser to access your workspace.

Enable public profile url

Editing a public workspace

To view and edit your public workspace's name and summary, navigate to the workspace in Postman. In the Overview tab, hover over the workspace name or summary and select to edit. Changes to the workspace name and summary will be saved automatically.

To update the workspace's visibility or to delete the workspace, select Workspace Settings.

Create public workspace dropdown

Adding elements to a public workspace

You can add existing collections and environments to another public workspace by sharing them.

  • To share a collection to a public workspace, open it using Collections on the left side, then select Three dots icon > Share collection.
  • To share an environment to a public workspace, open it using Environments on the left side, then select Three dots icon > Share environment.

Select the public workspace you want to share to, and choose whether you also want to remove the element from its current workspace. Select Share and Continue.

Removing elements from a public workspace

When you remove an element from a public workspace, it is no longer visible in that particular workspace. The element is still available in any other workspace where it has been added.

  • To remove a collection from a public workspace, open it using Collections on the left side, then select Three dots icon > Remove from workspace. Confirm that you would like to remove the collection from the current workspace. The collection will no longer be visible in the workspace.
  • To remove an environment from a public workspace, select Three dots icon next to the environment menu or select Three dots icon next to the Share button in the Environment tab. Select Remove from workspace and confirm that you would like to remove the environment from the current workspace. The environment will no longer be visible in the workspace.

Deleting an element is different from removing it. When you delete an element, it is no longer available in any workspace. When you remove an element from a specific workspace, it will still be available in any other workspaces it was in.

Deleting a public workspace

Public workspaces must have their visibility reverted in order to be deleted. If you try to delete a public workspace by selecting Three dots icon on the right corner of the workspace overview, the option to delete will be greyed out.

Deleting a public workspace

To change the visibility of a public workspace, change the visibility dropdown to Team, then Save Changes. After changing the visibility, you will be able to delete the workspace. Select Three dots icon > Delete workspace.

Managing public workspace members

If you're a team administrator you can add or remove any member from your public workspace using the Members tab. To add members to a public workspace, see Sharing workspaces.

Another way to add workspace members is to select Manage Team and select Invite Users.

Add workspace members to a public workspace

Enter an email address, select Add to the team, select the roles you would like to assign to them, then select Send Invitations. You can also generate a link and invite people to your team by sharing the link with them.

Edit members for a public workspace

Team members will receive an email and in-app notification when added to a public workspace.

To remove any team member, select External link icon (the delete icon) next to the individual you want to remove from the workspace, and select Remove User From Team.

Remove team members for a public workspace

Select X next to the team member you want to remove from the public workspace, and select Save.

Remove members for a public workspace from overview

Collaborating in a public workspace

To collaborate on entities within a public workspace, open the workspace menu and select the workspace.

For collections and environments, create a fork and request to merge changes using a pull request.

For APIs, navigate to the API and version. Select Definition > Request Access to request an editor role.

Adding summaries

Add summaries to improve the visibility of your collections, APIs, and workspaces on the Public API Network.

  1. Navigate to your team page by selecting your team name from Home, then selecting View team profile.
  2. Select the Collections, APIs, or Workspaces tab.
  3. Hover over an item and select Edit icon Edit listing.
  4. Enter a brief Summary that describes your collection, API, or workspace.
  5. Select Save.

Adding a summary

Next steps

To add an API to the network, see Adding your API.

Last modified: 2021/12/22