Creating workspaces

Workspaces allow you to organize your Postman work and collaborate with teammates. You can group your projects together, with workspace acting as the single source of truth for related APIs, collections, environments, mocks, monitors, and other linked entities. By collaborating in a workspace, your edits are synced with your team in realtime.

Create workspace homepage

Personal workspaces are visible only to you—with a Postman account you can create unlimited workspaces. With team workspaces, you can share and manage access to project components with collaborators.

By sharing a component such as a collection to a workspace, collaborators with access to the workspace can also access it—by default with readonly permissions. You can configure access settings for the workspace on an individual basis to provide permissions depending on your account.

Workspaces can also create visibility for the projects within a team, since collections in the workspace are visible to all members sharing it. Request history is also saved to a workspace, which can aid collaborative debugging efforts.

For Postman Business and Enterprise teams, a private workspace is a team workspace that is only visible to the user who created it, plus team members who have been invited to join it. Private workspaces allow teams to restrict access to collections, environments, mocks, and monitors that are relevant only to a particular group.

Creating a new workspace

To create a new workspace, select the workspace dropdown menu at the left of Postman, and click New Workspace.

Create new workspace

Use the visibility dropdown to choose a Team, Private or Personal workspace. Note that you can share elements to a different workspace at a later date if you are not sure which type to create.

To create a personal workspace, enter the workspace name and summary. Select the visibility dropdown menu and choose Personal.

Personal Workspace

To create a team workspace, enter the workspace name and summary. Select the visibility dropdown menu and choose Team. Add collaborators by entering their email addresses, then define their workspace roles.

Team workspace

If you are an Admin user and add any email addresses not associated with current team members, they will be invited to join the team.

Postman Business and Enterprise users can check the box to limit visibility of this workspace to invited members, making a private workspace.

Click Create Workspace and Postman will open your new workspace. You can add elements to the workspace and invite new members using the Invite button at the top at any time.

To create a new workspace, you can click the New button above the navigation bar, select Workspace and follow the same steps.

Create workspace new button

You can also create a new workspace in the Workspaces dashboard. Click Create New and follow the same steps.

Create new workspace dashboard

Creating a public workspace

Public workspaces enable you to browse and collaborate on entities with anyone across the world. Before you create a public workspace, navigate to team profile settings and enable your public team profile. This will ensure your team's profile will show up on the Public API Network.

Enable team profile

There are four types of workspaces - personal, team, private and public workspaces. When you open a workspace, Postman will provide an overview of its contents, activity, and members in a new tab.

Overview team workspace

To create a public workspace, select the team workspace and change the team's visibility dropdown to Public and click Save Changes.

Visibility

Once you make a workspace public, the notification is sent to workspace members. Click the notification bell in the top right corner to view notifications.

In app notification

In addition to this, you will receive an email with the workspace information regarding who has made the change and which workspace was affected with the sharing link for the workspace.

Email notification

Once you make a workspace public, all entities within that workspace become publicly accessible through the workspace. You need to be a workspace admin to change the visibility of a workspace to public. Within a team, you cannot have two public workspaces with the same name.

You cannot convert a private workspace directly to public, but you can change a private workspace into a regular team workspace and then make it public.

Next steps

Check out some tips on how to use and manage your workspaces. You can also use your workspace activity feed to keep up to date with progress on the projects within it.