Using and managing workspaces

You can share your Postman components with collaborators and organize your work using workspaces. To select a workspace, click the Workspaces dropdown at the top left of Postman.

New Workspace

You can create workspaces in addition to the default personal and team workspaces.

Contents

Accessing workspaces

You can access personal, team, and private workspaces using the workspace selector at the top of Postman.

To view and edit your workspace details (e.g. name, description), navigate to the workspace selector and hover over a workspace. Then, click ... and select View.

Default Workspace

Sharing workspaces

You can share workspaces with collaborators by inviting them individually or via a group. If you invite a collaborator to a personal workspace, Postman will convert it to a team workspace.

In Postman, you can convert your default My Workspace to a team, private or public workspace. If you convert all your personal workspaces, we will create one new workspace where you can keep your collections, APIs, and environments and use it as your personal workspace. This means you will always have one personal workspace in Postman.

Bootstrap workspace

Open your workspace in Postman by selecting it from the workspace dropdown in the left. To add collaborators, click Invite at the top right.

Add individuals you would like to invite to the workspace by email or by group. Select access levels for the workspace and click Send Invitations.

Invite users

When your collaborators accept the invite from the notification they receive, they will be able to access the workspace.

Joining workspaces

In some cases you will join a workspace by following the link in an email / notification when a member of the workspace invites you. If you are part of a team in Postman, you can find workspaces to join. Open the workspaces drop-down from the control at the top of Postman in the left. Search for a workspace and select the workspace you want to join.

Join Workspace Dropdown

Select the workspace, then click Join Workspace at the top right.

Join Workspace

Once you join the workspace, you can start creating collections, sending requests, visualizing your responses, and more.

Adding elements to workspaces

You can add existing collections and environments to another workspace by sharing them.

To share a collection, open it via Collections on the left-hand side, click ... and choose Share Collection.

Collection share

To share an environment, open it via Environments on the left-hand side, click ... and choose Share environment.

Share environment

Select the workspace you want to share to, and choose if you also want to remove the element from its current workspace. Click Share.

Share environment to workspace

Removing elements from a workspace

When you remove an element from a workspace, it is no longer visible in that particular workspace. The element is still available in any other workspace where it has been added.

If you remove a collection from a workspace and are unable to locate it, you can recover it navigating to your team collections, or, if the collection was never shared, by navigating to your personal collections. From there, you'll be able to re-share the item to the correct workspace.

From Postman, you can remove a collection from the sidebar. Click ... to open the collection menu. Select Remove from Workspace and confirm that you would like to remove the collection from the current workspace. The collection will no longer be visible in the workspace.

Remove collection from workspace

Also, you can remove an environment from the sidebar. Click ... next to the environment menu. You can also click ... next to the Share button in the Environment tab. Select Remove from workspace and confirm that you would like to remove the environment from the current workspace. The environment will no longer be visible in the workspace.

Remove environment from workspace

Note that deleting an element is different to removing it. When you delete an element it is no longer available in any workspace. When you remove an element from a specific workspace, it will still be available in any other workspaces it was in.

Adding categories and summaries

When you create a new collection or workspace you can add categories and summaries to help improve their visibility in searches. You can edit both by navigating to your team page under either the Collections or Workspaces tab.

Hover on the collection or workspace you need to edit and select Edit listing to see options to add categories and summaries. You will see similar category options for both collections and workspaces. The steps are the same for both collections and workspaces.

Adding categories and summaries

Select Save to save the edits.

Saving categories and summaries

Deleting a workspace

When you delete a workspace, you erase its existence in Postman. Only the original creator of a workspace or a team admin can delete a workspace.

"My Workspace" and "Team Workspace" are default workspaces created by Postman. They cannot be deleted, however they can be renamed.

To delete a workspace, go to the Workspaces dashboard and select a workspace.

Click the ... on the right corner of the workspace overview, then select Delete workspace.

Delete workspace

Confirm that you wish to delete the workspace—it will no longer be available following this action.

Public workspaces must have their visibility reverted in order to be deleted.

Managing workspace members

If you're a team administrator you can manage the members of your workspace, from the Dashboard Overview via the Members tab.

For a team workspace, you can add or remove any team member or group from the Members section, selecting access permissions depending on your account level, and save your changes.

Edit team workspace

Being an admin, you have the permission to add and remove any member from a public workspace. To add members to a public workspace, see Adding members to a public workspace.

Another way to add workspace members is to click Manage Team and select Invite Users.

Manage team

Enter an email address, click Add to the team, then select Send Invitations. You can also generate a link and invite people to your team by sharing the link with them.

Edit workspace

To remove any team member, click the trash icon near the person you want to remove, and select Remove User From Team.

Remove member

Seeing who is in your workspace

You can see all of the members of your workspace and keep track of who's working on your APIs at any given time. You can also make sure that all teammates who should be included in your workspace are there. The avatars of workspace members at the top of the screen in Postman are bright when a member is active, and muted when someone hasn't been active for fifteen to twenty seconds.

Hover over the avatars to see your teammates names.

Active user

You can only see workspace members if you are also a member. To see member avatars, and to make your avatar visible to the team, join the relevant workspace.

If more than three people belong to a workspace, the fourth avatar will be a number representing the remaining members. Click the number to see a list of all active and inactive users.

Active user list

The active and inactive user lists are collapsible.

Active user list

Next steps

You can view recent activity within a workspace to keep track with developments on your projects.