Managing your account

A free Postman account allows you to sync and back up your work so that you can access it from different machines. You can also collaborate with others on your API projects.

Signing up for an account is optional—you can continue to use the Postman app without an account if you prefer. Check out the EULA, security overview, and privacy policy.

Contents

Signing up for a Postman account

To use Postman on the desktop, download the app and launch it.

Alternatively, navigate to Postman on the web at go.postman.co/build.

You will see a prompt to log in or sign up.

App Sign In

Click Create Account.

App Sign Up

You can sign up by entering an email, username, and password, or using your Google account.

To sign up by email, enter your details, check the box to agree to the Terms of Use (which you can view by clicking the link), and click Create free account. Postman will send you an email to confirm your account—follow the instructions to complete your account setup.

To use your Google account to sign in to Postman, click Sign up with Google, and follow the instructions.

Configuring your account

When you first sign up for a Postman account, you will be prompted to complete your profile.

Configure account

Enter your details and click Continue.

Enter your profile details and click Save changes.

Your name will also be your username, and you will have the same username across all Postman elements, such as collections and documentation. You can update your username at any time.

Edit profile

You can make your profile public. A public profile allows you to add your collections to Postman's API Network and Postman Templates.

You can optionally create or join a team. If you're signing up with your organization email and your company has a Postman account, you will see teams you can join.

Each account can be on one Postman team at a time. Multi-team collaboration and guest accounts are on Postman's roadmap.

Choose Team

To create a team and optionally invite collaborators, click Create new team. Enter your team name and URL—click Continue.

Create Team

You can invite collaborators to join your team now or later.

Invite to Team

You can update your settings at any time by clicking your avatar in the top left of Postman.

User Menu

You can set a variety of profile details, including uploading a photo for your account, which will be visible to collaborators and anyone viewing resources you share or publish.

Signing into Postman

To sign into Postman, enter your email / username and password and click Sign In if you signed up by email, or Sign in with Google if you used Google auth when signing up.

Check the Keep me signed in box if you want to remain signed in after your current session. If you do not want Postman to retain your details or to remain signed in on the computer you are working on, uncheck the box.

Stay signed in

If you check the Keep me signed in box, you will remain signed in for 30 days, and will need to re-authenticate after that period. If you uncheck the box, you will need to sign in again after 30 minutes.

Syncing your work

When you are logged into Postman, you will see the sync indicator in the header bar.

Sync icon

When the icon is orange, you are connected to the servers and your work is backed up. The icon will turn blue and rotate when your work is being backed up, for example when you click the Save button.

Sync active

Postman will inform you if the sync is interrupted and will automatically try to re-establish the connection.

Sync connection

If a conflict arises from a sync issue within your workspace, Postman will present options for resolving the conflict.

Postman uses WebSockets for real-time syncing. If you are experiencing issues with syncing, you can file an issue with the Postman support center.

Upgrading your account

If you have a free account, you can upgrade it by navigating to your Postman Dashboard and clicking Upgrade in the top-right corner.

If you have a paid account, you can upgrade your Postman plan by navigating to your billing dashboard and clicking ... > Change Plan.

change plan menu

The cost of your upgraded plan and/or additional seats will be prorated based on the time left in your team's current billing cycle. For more information, contact Postman's sales team.

Switching between accounts

You can sign in to multiple accounts at the same time in Postman. Click your user avatar in the top right to toggle between accounts or click Add a new account to sign in with another one.

Multiple Accounts

Security policies and standards

Postman uses several technologies to ensure that your data is safe and secure. For more details, visit our security page.

  • Communication with Postman servers only happens through HTTPS and Secure WebSockets.
  • Environment and global variables are encrypted so that only you can view them.

Updating your username

You can update your username at any time by navigating to your profile settings, editing your username, and clicking Save Changes.

Changing your email address

You can change the email address associated with your Postman account by navigating to your account settings, editing your email address, and clicking Save Changes.

Resetting your password

You can reset your password if you are already signed in by navigating to your settings > Account Settings > Change Password.

If you are not signed in to your Postman account, you can recover your username or reset your password from the Sign In page. Click Trouble signing in?

App Sign In

Enter your account email, check the I'm not a robot box, and click Submit.

Trouble Signing In

Postman will send you an email with instructions for recovering access to your account.

If you still have trouble logging into your Postman account please contact support.

Next steps

Learn more about how Postman syncs your data.