Syncing your work

What is Syncing?

Syncing makes all your Postman data available when you're signed in to your Postman account.

Changes, such as edits, additions, or deletions, sync across all devices that are linked to your account.

These entities can sync with the server and be saved to the cloud:

  • Collections
  • Folders
  • Requests
  • Responses
  • Header Presets
  • Environments
  • Environment variables
  • Global variables
  • Collection run results
  • Workspaces
  • History

How do I Sync between computers?

Install the Postman app and sign in with the same email address or username on all your devices.

Alternatively, access Postman on the web by visiting go.postman.co/build in your browser and signing into your account.

If you forget your username or password, you can recover them using the links in the sign-in prompt.

When you're logged into Postman, your data is synced across devices.

Note: Postman restricts parallel usage to three apps per account.

States

If your app is in sync with the server, the icon to the left of your name in the top navigation appears orange, and displays IN SYNC.

If a sync operation is underway, it displays SYNCING.

If you are not signed in to the app, you see OFFLINE.

When you open the app or if your connection drops, it displays CONNECTING before it starts to sync.

sync icon in header

You may occasionally experience sync conflicts between your app and the Postman servers, particularly when you work as part of a team: Postman will prompt you to resolve any conflicts that occur

Sign Out

If you choose to sign out, Postman deletes your data from the local instance of the app.

Don’t worry, Postman restores all your data from the cloud when you sign in, and enables other users to use the app without your data clashing.

When you reload the app, Postman automatically retrieves the most recent and up-to-date version of your collections.

Disabling sync

If you or your organization have a requirement to prevent your data from being synced to the Postman cloud, you can use Postman without an account and manually back up your data locally.

You can delete already synced data by deleting your account. Note that if you are a part of a Postman team, you must first leave the team in order to delete your account.

Learn more about Security at Postman.

Deleting your Postman account

If you have a Postman account and are not part of a Postman team, you can delete your account.

Otherwise, you can contact us at help@postman.com.

delete account