Viewing changelogs and restoring collections

Your Postman collections display a changelog for reviewing create, update, and delete events. You can use the changelog to keep track of any updates you and your collaborators make to your private and team collections. The changelog also lets you rollback a collection and restore it to any previous point in time. Postman also tracks activity within teams and accounts.

Contents

Viewing the collection changelog

To review the changelog for a collection in Postman, select the Collections tab and click the arrow (▸) next to the relevant collection to view its details. Select the Changelog tab to see a chronological list of collection activities.

The changelog indicates the date of each update, the user who carried it out, what type of update they performed, and the time the change occurred. The changelog collates consecutive updates on the same session to the same entity for readability.

Collection Changelog

With a Postman Team, Business, or Enterprise account, you can see generated diffs detailing changes to a collection.

Changelog diffs

You can alternatively review a collection changelog from the Workspaces dashboard by selecting a workspace and collection.

Viewing workspace activity

You can access the activity feed from the Postman app or the web dashboard. The activity feed will show information on who added or removed collections, environments, or entities from the workspace as well as members joining and leaving the workspace. You can filter this information directly within the activity feed.

Accessing the activity feed from the Postman app

To access the activity feed from the Postman app, toggle to the browse view by clicking Browse in the status bar at the bottom. Then, select the Activity tab to see the events that have occured within the workspace.

activity feed from postman app

Accessing the activity feed from the web dashboard

You can also access the activity feed by logging in to the web dashboard, navigating to the appropriate workspace, then selecting the Activity tab to see the events that have occured within the workspace.

activity feed from dashboard

Filtering the activity feed

Filtering the activity feed allows you to display the relevant information directly instead of having to scroll through the feed. You can choose to filter by user or by entity (Collections, Workspace, Environment).

To reset your search, click Clear filters at the top of the activity feed. You can also refresh the results by clicking Refresh at the top-right of the activity feed.

Filtering by user

Filtering by user will only display the actions the specified user carried out. To filter by user, click Filter by User at the top of the activity feed and select the user(s). You can search for a specific user by typing their name in the search field. Once you have selected the user(s), click Apply.

The user list will only show the users that are part of the workspace, not all team members.

activity feed filtering user

Filtering by entity

Filtering by entity will only display the actions carried out on the selected entity type. Available entities are Workspace, API, Collection, and Environment. To filter by entity, click Filter by Entity at the top of the activity feed and select the entity or entities. You can search for a specific entity by typing its name in the search field. Once you have selected the entity or entities, click Apply.

You can access the changelog of a specific collection by clicking View Changelog next to actions on collections.

activity feed filtering entity

Viewing team activity

You can review the activity for a team with a Postman Team, Business, or Enterprise account. In the Postman web app, use the Workspaces dropdown to select your team, then open the Activity tab to view the events.

Viewing user activity

You can review the activity for your own account in the Postman web app. Click your avatar in the top right, and select Profile—the Activity tab will list your events.

Restoring collections and folders

With a Postman Team, Business, or Enterprise account, you can use the changelog to restore a collection to a previous point in time. Click Restore under a change to revert the collection to the point immediately after the change was applied. The changelog will update and Postman will display a confirmation message indicating the time the collection has been restored to.

Restore from Changelog

If you accidentally delete a folder, you can recover it by clicking Restore.

Recover Folder

You may see a warning on any request tabs you have open that are affected by reverting the collection, for example indicating a conflict or deletion.

Revert conflict

Postman will prompt you to resolve any conflicts that may cause you to lose unsaved data.

Exporting team activity to other platforms

With a Postman Team, Business, or Enterprise account, you can pipe team activity feeds to external communication channels:

Next steps

For more on working with a team in Postman, see collaboration. To learn how to invite input on your API projects, see sharing collections.