Billing

Postman provides a self-serve billing process. Refer to the following sections for guidance on managing your account, plan, and payment.

Contents

Billing dashboard

The Postman billing dashboard allows you to manage your team's billing.

Viewing billing overview

When navigating to your billing dashboard, you will first see your billing overview. You can view the details of your Postman plan, including your subscription cycle and a calculation of your expected cost upon renewal.

Billing overview

Managing add-ons

In your billing dashboard, select Resource usage on the left to view your team's additional features and their usage during your monthly billing period. These features include mock servers, monitoring, public documentation, the Postman API, custom domains, and integrations.

Add-ons usage and purchase

You can opt to allow or disable overages for mock server and monitor usage by selecting the icon to the right of each item. If enabled, you will be charged on a pay-as-you-go basis.

You can also Purchase Add-ons.

If your API development pipeline is dependent on Postman monitoring, disabling overages may cause unintended consequences. To avoid this as well as potentially fluctuating pay-as-you-go charges, consider adding pre-paid monitoring blocks to your team plan.

Viewing account history

In your billing dashboard, select Plan and payments on the left, then History.

Account history view

Items such as updates to your Postman subscription, card changes, payments, and charges are all listed in chronological order.

Viewing past invoices

In your billing dashboard, select Plan and payments on the left, then Invoices. You can get a copy of your past invoices by selecting the download icon to the right of the invoice you would like to retrieve.

Invoices view

To add or edit the information on an invoice, see adding custom information to invoices.

Payments

Postman offers various payment options dependent on your plan type.

Managing cards

In your billing dashboard, select Plan and payments on the left, then Payment methods.

To add, click Add Payment Method.

To remove, hover over the card in question and click Delete Payment Method.

To set a card as your primary, hover over the card and Set as Primary.

Payment methods view

Paying by invoice

Invoicing is available to Postman Enterprise teams. New customers can email the Postman Sales team to get started. Existing customers can submit a request to be invoiced instead of automatically charged.

You can pay invoices online, via check, or via wire-transfer. Invoices will be sent to your team's billing email address found in your billing details, and will include offline payment instructions. Pending payments can be found in your billing dashboard.

Adding custom information to invoices

In your billing dashboard, select Plan and payments on the left, then Invoices. Click Edit Billing Information.

Add or update your billing email, company name, address, and (if applicable) VAT ID, then Save. All future invoices will have the updated copy. To modify an existing invoice, submit a request.

Edit billing details

Failed payments

If you have a card on file, Postman will automatically attempt 3 times to charge it. If this is unsuccessful, team members with billing privileges will be notified via email.

Failed payment email

If payment is unsuccessful, Postman offers a grace period of 10 days to avoid service disruption. For invoice-based teams, this means 10 days following the due date listed on the invoice.

All team members are notified in the event of non-payment and subsequent service deactivation in Postman.

Team and plan changes

You can change your team's plan and billing cycle in your billing dashboard.

Changing your plan

To change your plan immediately, navigate to your billing dashboard, select Plan and payments on the left, then Edit plan.

Choose Monthly or Yearly for your billing cycle, then select your preferred plan type. You can adjust your team size and Proceed to confirm changes.

Change plan page

The cost of your new plan and/or additional seats will be prorated based on the time left in your team's billing cycle.

To upgrade to Postman Enterprise, contact Postman's sales team.

Setting instructions for next billing cycle

You can set instructions to determine what will happen at the end of your current billing cycle. To do so, navigate to your billing dashboard, select Plan and payments on the left, then Set instructions.

You can view your current plan and opt to Edit Standing Instructions. Select your preferred option from the drop-down, then click Proceed and confirm your changes.

Set instructions for next cycle

You can change your standing instructions at any time before the end of your current billing cycle.

Changing billing cycle

Monthly teams can switch to an annual plan at any time by navigating to your billing dashboard select Plan and payments on the left, then Edit plan.

Change plan page

Annual teams can switch to a monthly plan at the end of the current billing cycle. You can find the end date of your current billing cycle under Overview.

Purchasing add-ons

The base number of monitoring requests, custom domains, and mock server calls included in your plan depends on your plan type. You can enable or disable overages for monitoring and mock server calls by managing your team's add-ons. If enabled, you will be charged on a pay-as-you-go basis.

You can purchase additional blocks of monitoring requests, custom domains, and mock server calls by navigating to your billing dashboard, selecting Resource usage on the left, then Purchase Add-ons.

Add-ons purchase form

Select the add-ons you would like to purchase and set the number of blocks, then Review Changes to complete your purchase.

Utilizing auto-flex

Auto-flex is a flexible billing feature available to Postman teams. With auto-flex enabled, your team admins can add users without having to pay in advance for additional seats. Instead, you can utilize auto-flex to determine the value of adding users to your Postman team, and opt to retain or remove them prior to being billed.

Auto-flex is automatically enabled for all Postman Team and Business plans purchased after April 8, 2021. Teams created before this date can opt in immediately by enabling auto-flex via their billing dashboard. All teams will have auto-flex automatically enabled when their plan first renews after July 1, 2021.

Opting in to auto-flex

You can enable auto-flex for your team by navigating to your billing dashboard.

Auto-flex opt in early notification

Select Get Early Access.

Auto-flex opt in confirmation

Click to Agree to Auto-Flex's terms and conditions, then select Get Early Access.

View Postman's auto-flex team policy.

Billing for auto-flex

Your auto-flex billing cycle is dependent on your team's plan:

  • Monthly plans are charged for additional users on a monthly basis.
  • Annual plans are charged for additional users on a quarterly basis.

At any time during your auto-flex billing cycle, team admins can add users to your team regardless of available seats.

Prior to your auto-flex billing cycle renewing, all billing and admin team members will be notified of any additional users you have added during that time period.

Annual plans will be notified two weeks prior to their quarterly cycle renewing, and monthly plans will be notified one week prior to their monthly cycle renewing.

You can use this reminder to make any necessary changes to your team prior to the end of your current auto-flex cycle, which is when you will be billed for any additional users.

If you have already been billed for the users you added and retained in a previous auto-flex cycle, you cannot remove those slots until your plan renews.

You will not be billed if the number of users has remained unchanged during your auto-flex cycle, or if you remove any additional users prior to auto-flex billing.

If your team has incurred any overages and you have an auto-flex bill for that cycle, your overage charges will be combined with your auto-flex charges in your invoice.

Auto-flex email notification

You can view your current number of additional team members, how much you will be billed at the end of your cycle (unless you add or remove team members in the interim), and additional information about your auto-flex and regular billing cycles at any time in your billing dashboard.

Auto-flex billing overview

Contact Postman support with any questions regarding auto-flex.

Next steps

For information on team management, see Managing your team.

To learn more about the billing team role, see Roles and Permissions.