Viewing workspace activity

Changelog is available on Postman Team, Business, and Enterprise plans.

Your Postman collections display a changelog for reviewing create, update, and delete events. You can use the changelog to keep track of any updates you and your collaborators make to your private and team collections. The changelog also lets you rollback a collection and restore it to any previous point in time. Postman also tracks activity within teams and accounts.

Contents

Viewing the collection changelog

To review the changelog for a collection in Postman, select the Collections tab in the left sidebar and click the Changelog icon on the right of Postman to see a chronological list of collection activities.

The changelog indicates the date of each update, the user who carried it out, what type of update they performed, and the time the change occurred. The changelog collates consecutive updates on the same session to the same entity for readability.

Collection changelog

With a Postman Team, Business, or Enterprise account, you can see generated diffs detailing changes to a collection.

Changelog diffs

Viewing workspace activity

You can access the activity feed from Postman. The activity feed will show information on who added or removed collections, environments, or entities from the workspace as well as members joining and leaving the workspace. You can filter this information directly within the activity feed.

You can also see who is actively working in your workspace at any time. The avatars of members currently active in the workspace will be brightly colored and displayed at the top of your Postman screen.

Active user

Accessing the activity feed from Postman

To access the activity feed in Postman, select the Overview tab and navigate to the Activity section to see the events that have occured within the workspace.

Activity feed from postman

Filtering the activity feed

Filtering the activity feed allows you to display the relevant information directly instead of having to scroll through the feed. You can choose to filter by user or by entity (Workspace, API, Collection, Environment).

To reset your search, click Clear filters at the right of the activity feed. You can also refresh the results by clicking Refresh at the right of the activity feed.

Filtering by user

Filtering by user will only display the actions the specified user carried out. To filter by user, click User at the top of the activity feed and select the user(s). You can search for a specific user by typing their name in the search field. Once you have selected the user(s), click Apply.

The user list will only show the users that are part of the workspace, not all team members.

Activity filtering by user

Filtering by entity

Filtering by entity will only display the actions carried out on the selected entity type. Available entities are Workspace, API, Collection, and Environment. To filter by entity, click Entity at the top of the activity feed and select the entity or entities. You can search for a specific entity by typing its name in the search field. Once you have selected the entity or entities, click Apply.

You can access the changelog of a specific collection by clicking View Changelog next to actions on collections.

Activity filtering by entity

Viewing team activity

You can review the activity for a team with a Postman Team, Business, or Enterprise account. In Postman, use the Workspaces dropdown to select your team, then navigate to the Activity feed to view the events.

Viewing user activity

You can review the activity for your own account in Postman. Click your avatar in the top right, and select Profile — the Activity tab will list your events.

Restoring collections and folders

With a Postman Team, Business, or Enterprise account, you can use the changelog to restore a collection to a previous point in time. Click Restore under a change to revert the collection to the point immediately after the change was applied. The changelog will update and Postman will display a confirmation message indicating the time the collection has been restored to.

Restore from changelog

If you accidentally delete a folder, you can recover it by clicking Restore.

Recover folder

You may see a warning on any request tabs you have open that are affected by reverting the collection, for example indicating a conflict or deletion.

Revert conflict

Postman will prompt you to resolve any conflicts that may cause you to lose unsaved data.

Exporting team activity to other platforms

With a Postman Team, Business, or Enterprise account, you can pipe team activity feeds to external communication channels:

Next steps

For more on working with a team in Postman, see the collaboration intro. To learn how to invite input on your API projects, see sharing your work.